Academic Council

Constitution of the Cotton University, Executive Council vide Clause No. 27(1) of the CU Act, 2017

Sl.No Clause Sub-clause Sub-sub-clause Provision of the Act Name(s) Tenure Email ID/ Mobile Number
1 29 (1) (a) (i) The Vice- Chancellor Prof. Bhabesh Chandra Goswami    
2     (ii) Pro Vice- Chancellor      
3     (iii) Registrar Prof. Diganta Kumar Das    
4     (iv) Academic Registrar Dr. Sanjay Kumar Dutta    
5     (v) The Director of Higher Education; Shri Dharmakanta Mili, ACS    
6     (vi) The Director of Technical Education, Assam; Shri Dhrubajyoti Borah, ACS    
7     (vii) The Director of Medical Education, Assam; Dr. Anup Kr BarmanDirector of Medical Education, Guwahati-22    
8     (viii) The Deans of Faculties;
  1. Prof. Kalyan Das, Dean Earth Sciences
  2. Prof. Mahadev Patgiri, Dean R&D
  3. Prof. Manjit Kumar Bhattacharyya, Dean SW
  4. Prof. Mausumi Ganguly, Dean, PCM
  5. Prof. Phukan Basumatary, Dean, LLL
  6. Dr. Shantanu Chakravarty, Dean i/c, HSS
  7. Dr. Uma Dutta, Dean i/c, Life Sciences
9     (ix) The Professors of the University;
  1. Prof. Barnali Gogoi
  2. Prof. Debojit Sarma
  3. Prof. Dipak Sarma
  4. Prof. Ganesh Ch Wary
  5. Prof. Jiban Jyoti Das
  6. Prof. Kalyan Das
  7. Prof. Mahadev Patgiri
  8. Prof. Maheswar Kalita
  9. Prof. Manabjyoti Bordoloi
  10. Prof. Manjit Kumar Bhattacharyya
  11. Prof. Mausumi Ganguly
  12. Prof. Phukan Ch Basumatary
  13. Prof. Santanu Sarma
10     (x) The University Associate Professor who are Heads of Department of Teaching;
  1. Dr Abhijit Bardoloi
  2. Dr Abhijit Barthakur
  3. Dr Bornali Sharma
  4. Dr Champakali Talukdar
  5. Dr Chandana Sarma
  6. Dr Deetimali Barua Nath
  7. Dr Eeshan Kalita
  8. Dr Kusum Kunja Malakar
  9. Dr Mandira Sarma
  10. Ms Manisha Sarma
  11. Dr Noor Uddin Ahmed
  12. Dr Paramita Dey
  13. Dr Phunu Das Sarma
  14. Dr Prashanta Chakraborty
  15. Dr Sagarika Goswami
  16. Dr Sangeeta Barthakur
  17. Dr Uma Dutta
11     (xi) The Librarian of the University;      
12     (xii) President and Secretary of University Teachers’ Association
  1. Prof Dipak Sarma,
President, CUTA
  1. Dr. G. Barman
13     (xiii) The Principal of Constituent Colleges, if any.      
14   (b) (xiv) Persons not exceeding three, other than teachers of the University, appointed by the Chancellor being persons who by reasons of their possessing expert knowledge in subjects named for the purpose by the ex-officio members of the Academic Council are in the opinion of the Chancellor fitted to serve in the Council;
  1. Prof. Dhruba Kr. Bhattacharyya, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Tezpur University
  1. Prof. Swaroop Nandan Bora, IIT, Guwahati
  1. Prof. Malinee Goswami, Former Vice –Chancellor, Assam Women’s University
15     (xv) Two persons to be elected by the Court, who are not employees or students of the University; and
  1. Prof. Abani Kumar Bhagabati, Formerly in the Dept of Geography, GU
  2. Prof. Chnadana Goswami, Dept of Business Administration, Tezpur University
16     (xvi) Two members (one female) of the Cotton College/ Cotton University Alumni (to be nominated by the Vice Chancellor)
  1.  Prof. Madhurjya P. Bezbaruah, Dept of Economics, GU
  2. Prof. Polly Vauquline, Dept of Women’s Studies, GU