About Mass Communication, Journalism and Media Studies Department

            On 3rd December, 2004, the Media & Communication Study Centre (MCSC), Cotton College was inaugurated at EDC and the Centre started conducting one year Post Graduate Diploma Course in Mass Communication & Journalism (PGDMJ) from January, 2005.

            In 2008, MCSC has been renamed as the ‘CENTRE FOR MASS COMMUNICATION & JOURNALISM (CMCJ).

            On 8th September, 2014, CMJC was dedicated to the memory of Dr Bhupen Hazarika, the cultural icon of Assam and also an alumnus of Cotton College on his 88th birth anniversary. The Centre was renamed as ‘Dr Bhupen Hazarika Centre of Mass Communication & Journalism (BCMJ)’.

            When the historic 116-year-old Cotton College was upgraded to Cotton University, a need was felt for a full-fledged department of Mass Communication & Journalism to facilitate new courses and meet the demands of the time. To put this to effect, a full-fledged ‘Department of Mass Communication, Journalism & Media Studies’ was formed with effect from July, 2018 and the subject ‘Mass Communication & Journalism’ has been added at the UG level as a Core / Major subject.

            Altogether 1265 students in 26 batches have successfully completed the one year PGDMJ course till date and 40 students are presently pursuing the course in 27th batches.