About Arabic Department

            The Department of Arabic, Persian & Urdu (Islamic Studies) started from the very inception of Cotton College in 1901. Professor Maulavi Abu Nasser Muhammad Wahid was the founder Head of the Department who taught all three languages namely Arabic, Persian & Urdu. This Department has been playing a vital role in the expansion of higher qualitative education in the field of Perso-Arabic literature in NE Regions in general and in Assam in particular. Initially, Calcutta University accorded affiliation to Intermediate Course in Arts in Arabic and Persian in 1907. In 1909, the University extended affiliation to B.A. (Pass) Course in both the subjects. Affiliation to Honours (i.e. Core/ Major) Course was granted to Persian in 1924 by Calcutta University and subsequently to Arabic in 1966 by Gauhati University. The Post Graduate Course in Arabic and Persian under Gauhati University started in this Department in 1992. As and when Cotton College is upgraded to Cotton College State University or finally Cotton University, the research activities of Ph.D. programme started from 2017.

The noted alumni of this department:

  1. Dr. Maidul Islam Bora (1899- 1944), Professor in Persian, Dacca University, 1st Ph.D. degree holder of Assam from the University of London (July 15, 1931), President of Assam Sahitya Sabha, 1940 (18th Session in Jorhat), translated Persian books (i) Baharistan –e-Ghayebi and (ii) Fatiha-i-Ibriya into English.
  2. Syed Abdul Malik (1919 – 2000) Padma Shri (1984), Padma Bhushan (1992), awardee of Srimanta Sankar Deva Award, Sahitya Akademi Award, President of Sahitya Sabha (1977), Rajya Sabha Member (1983).